East Bengal win Calcutta Football League

Last Updated: Thu, May 23, 2013 19:23 hrs

Federation Cup winners East Bengal ended the season in triumph winning the Calcutta Football League (CFL) for third time in a row after 3-2 victory over rival Mohun Bagan at Salt Lake Stadium on Thursday.

Man of the Match Edeh Chidi said their win was dedicated to coach Trevor James Morgan, who decided to return home in Perth, Australia.

East Bengal looked formidable from start to finish as they made two good moves inside eight minutes but both Penn Orji and Edeh Chidi failed to capitalise the opportunities.

They mended their lapses as play progress and Edeh Chidi struck home on a return ball in the 23rd minute when Bagan keeper Shilton Paul failed to grab a stinging left footer from Penn Orji.

Five minutes later Penn Orji doubled the score for East Bengal on a cross from Cavin Lobo, but Bagan´s mercurial Nigerian striker Odafa Okolie reduced difference in the 39th minute with a diagonal free kick.

Odafa curling shot beat the 5-man wall and East Bengal keeper Abhijit Mondal failed to fathom it and hit the post before falling.

Mohun Bagan defense looked vulnerable in the absence of Quinton Jacobs, who was red carded in the previous match against Prayag United, the situation deteriorated further when central defender injured Anyichie Echezona limped out of ground in the 19th minute.

East Bengal could have earned two more goals had not been post and cross-piece prevented shot from Edeh Chidi and Penn Orji, who were live-wire for the red and golds.

After water break East Bengal banking on counter attacks mostly surged ahead 3-1 when big-bodied Nigerian Edeh Chidi struck his second and third for club with acrobatic feat.

He fell twice during snatching but still held onto the ball and hoodwink five Bagan players in the 72nd minute.

As East Bengal fans were in a mood of celebration for second trophy of the season, East Bengal former forward Tolgay Ozbay struck home in the stoppage time 3-2.

The win meant East Bengal keep CFL for third time in a row under Trevor James Morgan and defeat for Mohun Bagan meant the Mariners with high profile players and most expensive coach Karim Bencherifa went back to tent without a trophy for third year in a row.

East Bengal began the season with winning the Federation Cup and ended season in triumph of CFL for 34 times.

With the derby match Kolkata´s football season for 2012-13 ended.

Interestingly the organiser Indian Football Association took nearly ten months to finish Calcutta Football League for Premier division, which began in August 2012.

Mohun Bagan, however, won the Airlines Trophy without playing the final as Mohammedan Sporting refused to play as dates changes time and again for last match.

More from Sify: