EU issues sanctions against 12 Syrian ministers

Last Updated: Tue, Jun 24, 2014 07:20 hrs

Brussels, June 24 (IANS) The Council of European Union (EU) decided to impose an asset freeze and travel ban on 12 Syrian government ministers, said a statement published on EU's official website Monday.

The EU foreign ministers meeting in Luxemburg agreed to "reinforced" EU restrictive measures against Syria, targeting 12 ministers of the Syrian government with an asset freeze and a travel ban, accusing them of "responsibility for serious human rights violations," Xinhua quoted the EU as saying in the statement.

Monday's decision brings the total number of people subject to EU restrictions on Syria to 191. At the same time, 53 entities linked to the repressive policies, including the Central Bank of Syria, remain under an EU asset freeze.

Tuesday's sanction will enter into force Tuesday.

More from Sify: