London: Social networking giant Facebook has finally decided to permanently remove millions of embarrassing and inappropriate pictures from its servers after years of keeping them against users' wishes.
Until recently, any pictures erased from an account would in fact remain stored by Facebook and anyone who had the direct link to that picture could therefore still view it.
But now, pictures erased by a user will be permanently wiped from the system within 14 days, but with a potential maximum delay of 30 days, The Daily Mail reports.
Pictures will be immediately removed from view on a user's account from the moment they delete it.
The issue of accessible 'deleted' photos was first raised three years ago after a 28-year-old Cambridge student Joseph Bonneau discovered that pictures he had deleted from the site were still available for all to see if they had saved a link to them.
Bonneau told the Sunday Times that Facebook has taken a very long time to bring the change.
"It has taken them a very long time to do it because this change probably represents a huge engineering effort," Bonneau said.
"The lesson hopefully to other companies is to build in privacy right form the start, because if you don't get it right first time, it can be a huge effort to fix," he added.