Factfile on Telangana

Last Updated: Thu, Dec 10, 2009 08:27 hrs

Some facts about Andhra Pradesh's Telangana region, which is all set to get the status of a separate state:

Most Popular
Telangana erupts in joy
Sonia says it all with sari
Jobs with highest divorce rate
Major events of 2009
Powerful women of the decade
Best of the decade
Politician of the decade
Climate summit special
Check out new-look STREE
Follow us on Twitter

* Telangana, meaning 'land of Telugus', was part of the erstwhile princely state of Hyderabad.

* After the accession of Hyderabad State with India in 1948, Telangana remained a separate state till 1956 when it was merged with Andhra State, carved out of Madras province, to form Andhra Pradesh. It was India's first state formed on linguistic lines.

Process for Telangana formation to be fully followed: Govt

* Number of districts: 10. Greater Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medak, Nalgonda, Mahabubnagar, Warangal, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Adilabad and Khammam.

* Geography: Has contiguous area bordering Andhra, Rayalaseema (parts of the existing Andhra Pradesh), Karnataka, Maharashtra and Chhattisgarh.

* Area: 114,800 sq km

* Population: about 35 million

* Languages spoken: Telugu and Urdu

Congress MP resigns over Telangana

* The region is situated at a high altitude in an upland area. Two major rivers Godavari and Krishna flow through the region but most of the land is arid.

* Greater Hyderabad, located almost at the heart of Telangana, is a major information technology hub and is likely to be the capital of the new state.

Telangana issue again rocks Rajya Sabha

* The region sends 119 legislators to the 294-member Andhra Pradesh assembly and also accounts for 17 out of 42 Lok Sabha seats from the state.

More from Sify: