Former Indo-Pak cricketers felicitated

Last Updated: Thu, Jan 03, 2013 13:43 hrs
Former Indo-Pak cricketers felicitated

The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) on Thursday felicitated 19 former cricketers from India and Pakistan at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata to mark the 25 years of Indo-Pak One Day International (ODI) matches at the iconic stadium.

The felicitation was performed during the 45-minute innings break of the second ODI match between India and Pakistan here.

The stadium witnessed a historic moment when the former cricketers, including Sourav Ganguly, Ravi Shastri, Rameez Raja and VVS Laxman, were given a lap of honour around the iconic ground on open jeeps. The crowd cheered aloud as they captured the moment in their hearts.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, who was the guest of honour, gave a silver salver, a shawl, a commemorative tie and a cheque of Rs.One lakh to each of the cricketers.

Pertinently, the first ODI between the two neighbours were played at the Eden Gardens on February 18, 1987.

The list of players felicitated are as follows:

Bishan Singh Bedi

Mushtaq Muhammad

Ajit Wadekar

GR Vishwanath

Sunil Gavaskar

Intikhab Alam

Kapil Dev

Imtiaz Ahmed

Sadiq Muhammad

K Srikkanth

Wasim Akram

Ravi Shastri

Sandip Patil

Rameez Raja

Dilip Vengsarkar

VVS Laxman

Navjot Singh Sidhu

Anil Kumble

Sourav Ganguly

More from Sify: