Web Sify
Follow us on
Mail
Print

Four arrested in connection with attack on Lt Gen K S Brar

Source : PTI
Last Updated: Fri, Oct 05, 2012 02:35 hrs
Lt. Gen Brar returns to India

London: The Metropolitan Police have arrested four persons, including a 40-year-old woman, in connection with the stabbing of retired Lt Gen K S Brar, who had led 'Operation Blue Star' 28 years ago to flush out pro-Khalistani militants from the Golden Temple.

"Officers from the MPS have this evening arrested three men and one woman on suspicion of conspiracy to murder in connection with the investigation into the attempted murder of an Indian man (Brar) in central London on September 30," a spokesperson of the Metropolitan Police Service told PTI yesterday.

"All the four are being taken to a central London police station where they will be interviewed by detectives," he added.

In the first arrest, one 33-year-old man and a 40-year-old woman were held from Wolverhampton at about 17:00 BST (2230 IST), the spokesperson said.

Another 34-year-old man was arrested after being stopped in a car in West Bromwich about 30 minutes later, while a 25-year-old man was arrested in the same circumstances at 19:00 BST (0030 IST), he said.

"All four are being taken to a central London police station where they will be interviewed by detectives. Inquiries are ongoing and police continue to appeal for information into the incident," he said.

Brar (78) was on a private visit when he was attacked by four men in Old Quebec Street near Oxford Street on Sunday night when he was returning to his hotel with his wife. 




blog comments powered by Disqus
most popular on facebook
talking point on sify news