The big losers

Last Updated: Sun, May 17, 2009 05:29 hrs

  Former Karnataka chief minister S Bangarappa of the Congress lost in Shimoga to B Y Raghavendra, a Bharatiya Janata Party novice and son of Karnataka's first BJP chief minister B S Yeddyurappa by 52,893 votes.
  MDMK leader Vaiko was trounced from Tamil Nadu's Virudhunagar parliamentary constituency, which went to the Congress'

Manik Tagore.
  Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief Ram Vilas Paswan concedes defeat from Hajipur, Bihar. 
  Congress stalwart and central government minister Shankarsinh Vaghela lost from Gujarat's Panchmahals constituency. He was beaten by 2,090 votes by his Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) rival Prabhatsinh Chauhan.
  Congress veteran Margaret Alva lost in Uttara Kannada to sitting Bharatiya Janata Party member Anath Kumar Hegde by
22,769 votes.
  Kannada film star and central junior minister M.H. Ambareesh of Congress lost to N. Cheluvara Swamy of the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) by 23,677 votes in Mandya parliamentary constituency.

Sify Special: The coalition game begins

  Congress veteran B. Janardhana Poojary, a former central minister, Saturday lost to the Bharatiya Janata Party's Nalin Kumar Kateel by 40,420 votes in the Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency of Karnataka.

More from Sify: