Maharashtra, Haryana, Arunachal polls on Oct 13

Last Updated: Mon, Aug 31, 2009 12:15 hrs

New Delhi: Assembly polls in the three Congress-ruled states of Maharashtra, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh will be held simultaneously on October 13, the Election Commission announced on Monday.

The counting of votes would take place on October 22, Chief Election Commissioner Navin Chawla told reporters here.

Nominations would be filed in all three states from September 18 to 25 while the last date of withdrawal of papers is September 29, Chawla said.

Most read
UPA II completes 100 days
Special: Swine flu
Madras through ages
Did media overplay flu panic?
Follow us on Twitter

Arunachal Pradesh has a 60-member assembly, while the Maharashtra legislature has 288 seats. Haryana has a 90-member house.

There will be 82,028 polling stations in Maharashtra, 12,894 in Haryana and 206 in Arunachal Pradesh, Chawla said.

The incumbent assemblies in Maharashtra and Arunachal Pradesh complete their term on October 24 and November 3 respectively. In Haryana, the government called for early elections after dissolving the assembly.

More from Sify: