Gayle, Pollard included in Windies' provisional World T20 squad

Last Updated: Sun, Jan 19, 2014 09:17 hrs

St. John's: The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has included Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard in a provisional 30-member squad for the World Twenty20 in Bangladesh March-April.

Both players missed out on the recent series against India and New Zealand. Gayle suffered a hamstring tear in India in November and Pollard was ruled out of the tour with a knee injury.

Also named in the provisional list of players are Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels and Ravi Rampaul, who sustained injuries on the recent tour of New Zealand, and Fidel Edwards, who is returning to international cricket.

The West Indies are hoping to assemble their strongest team to defend their T20 world title they won against Sri Lanka in 2012.

The ICC World T20 will be played in Bangladesh from March 16 to April 6.

The West Indies play their opening match against India March 23.

Provisional Squad:

1. Christopher Barnwell

2. Sulieman Benn

3. Tino Best

4. Samuel Badree

5. Darren Bravo

6. Dwayne Bravo

7. Johnson Charles

8. Kevon Cooper

9. Sheldon Cottrell

10. Fidel Edwards

11. Rayad Emrit

12. Andre Fletcher

13. Chris Gayle

14. Jason Holder

15. Delorn Johnson

16. Nikita Miller

17. Sunil Narine

18. Ashley Nurse

19. Veerasammy Permaul

20. Kieron Pollard

21. Denesh Ramdin

22. Ravi Rampaul

23. Kemar Roach

24. Andre Russell

25. Darren Sammy

26. Marlon Samuels

27. Krishmar Santokie

28. Lendl Simmons

29. Dwayne Smith

30. Chadwick Walton

More from Sify: