Government constitutes eight-member committee to review Cinematograph Act-1952

Last Updated: Mon, Feb 04, 2013 15:10 hrs

The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MIandB) on Monday constituted a eight-member committee led by former Chief Justice of Punjab and Haryana High Court, Justice (Retired) Mukul Mudgal, to review the Cinematograph Act, 1952.

The committee would also examine the role of central government and the powers of the state governments in allowing cinematographic exhibition of films.

The recent controversy over the Kamal Hassan's film 'Vishwaroopam', there was a view that the movie already had a CBFC (Central Board of Film Certification) certification required for its release, while the Tamil Nadu government had held back its release citing law and order concerns.

The committee will also review the process of film certification including the need to have special categories of certification for broadcasting on television and radio.

The members of the Committee are as follows: -

I. Mukul Mudgal, Chief Justice (Retired) of Punjab and Haryana High Court (Chairperson)

II. Lalit Bhasin,Chairperson, FCAT

III). Sharmila Tagore, former Chairperson, CBFC

IV). Javed Akhtar, renowned music composer, writer and lyricist

V). Leela Samson,Chairperson, CBFC

VI). L. Suresh, Secretary, South Indian Film Chamber of Commerce and former President, Film Federation of India

VII). Rameeza Hakim, Advocate, Supreme Court

VIII). Raghvendra Singh, Joint Secretary (Films), MIandB


More from Sify: