Govt to shut Delhi metro stations to stop protests

Last Updated: Sat, Aug 25, 2012 03:21 hrs

New Delhi: Services at six metro stations in the national capital will be closed from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Sunday to keep the protestors from reaching the residences of Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Nitin Gadkari over the coalgate scam.

As per the directions received from the Delhi Police, six Metro stations, including Patel Chowk, Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan, Jor Bagh, Race Course ( on Line-2, HUDA City Centre to Jahangirpuri) and Khan Market Metro station ( on Line-6, Central Secretariat to Badarpur) will be closed for public from 8.00 AM to 6.00 PM.

However, interchange of passengers from Line 2 to Line 6 and vice versa will be allowed.

Metro services on all other Metro stations will run as per normal schedule.

Delhi Police has taken this precautionary step following the call given by former Team Anna member and RTI crusader Arvind Kejriwal to protest outside the residences of the Prime Minister and BJP President.

More from Sify: