Higgs, Englert win Nobel Prize in Physics

Last Updated: Thu, Oct 10, 2013 05:34 hrs

Stockholm, Oct 8 (IBNS) The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet on Tuesday decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics to two scientists for their works on the theory of the Higgs boson.

The prize was shared by Peter Higgs of the UK and Francois Englert from Belgium.

"Francois Englert and Peter W. Higgs are jointly awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 2013 for the theory of how particles acquire mass. In 1964, they proposed the theory independently of each other (Englert together with his now deceased colleague Robert Brout). In 2012, their ideas were confirmed by the discovery of a so called Higgs particle at the CERN laboratory outside Geneva in Switzerland," the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet said in a statement on Tuesday.

The awarded theory is a central part of the Standard Model of particle physics that describes how the world is constructed.

"According to the Standard Model, everything, from flowers and people to stars and planets, consists of just a few building blocks: matter particles. These particles are governed by forces mediated by force particles that make sure everything works as it should," read the statement

"The entire Standard Model also rests on the existence of a special kind of particle: the Higgs particle. This particle originates from an invisible field that fills up all space. Even when the universe seems empty this field is there. Without it, we would not exist, because it is from contact with the field that particles acquire mass. The theory proposed by Englert and Higgs describes this process," it said.

"On 4 July 2012, at the CERN laboratory for particle physics, the theory was confirmed by the discovery of a Higgs particle. CERN's particle collider, LHC (Large Hadron Collider), is probably the largest and the most complex machine ever constructed by humans. Two research groups of some 3,000 scientists each, ATLAS and CMS, managed to extract the Higgs particle from billions of particle collisions in the LHC," the statement said.

CERN congratulates Francois Englert and Peter W. Higgs on the award of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics

Meanwhile CERN congratulated both the scientists for their achievements.

"I'm thrilled that this year's Nobel Prize has gone to particle physics," CERN Director General Rolf Heuer said in a statement.

"The discovery of the Higgs boson at CERN last year, which validates the Brout-Englert-Higgs mechanism, marks the culmination of decades of intellectual effort by many people around the world," he said.

More from Sify: