'I will support incoming Karnataka CM to best of my ability': Gowda

Last Updated: Sun, Jul 08, 2012 10:40 hrs

Outgoing Karnataka Chief Minister, D.V. Sadananda Gowda, on Sunday said the central leadership had taken a decision to change the leadership in his state due to political reasons, but emphasized that he would provide all support to the new leader.

"The incoming chief minister will be given all sorts of co-operation by me. And certainly we will see that once again people of Karnataka will bless us in the next coming elections. I hope that my central leaders will be visiting my state tomorrow, or day after. As soon as they come out there, after the election of new leader, I will be going to submit my resignation," said Gowda.

"I will see that the incoming chief minister will be very happy to carry out his duties in the coming days and I will support him to the best of my ability in Karnataka," he added.

Gowda further said he was appreciated by all during his stint as Karnataka Chief Minister.

"I am very happy because in the small tenure what I did that has been appreciated by the senior leaders, but political decision will be taken not only with regard to single incident, but on various other incidences will be taken into consideration," he said.

Meanwhile, several BJP party workers and leaders congratulated Chief Minister designate Jagadish Shettar.

Shettar, presently Karnataka's Minister for Rural Development, would be the new legislative party leader in the state.

Shettar, who has the backing of former Karnataka chief minister B.S. Yeddyurappa, will be the third BJP chief minister in the state in four years since the party came to power there in 2008.

The crisis in the Karnataka BJP intensified last week after nine ministers resigned from the State Cabinet, thereby projecting a show of strength in their campaign for ousting Chief Minister Gowda.

The ministers, who quit earlier were Jagadish Shettar (Rural Development), CM Udasi (PWD), Murugesh Nirani (Industries), V Somanna (Housing), Umesh Katti (Agriculture), Basavaraj Bommai (Water Resources), Revu Naik Belamagi (Libraries and Animal Husbandry), M P Renukacharya (Excise) and Raju Gowda (Small Scale Industries). (ANI)

More from Sify: