ICC Champions Trophy 2013 to be launched

Last Updated: Sun, Oct 14, 2012 19:43 hrs

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson will join England captain Alastair Cook and Tournament Director Steve Elworthy in the official launch of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 which will take place in London on Wednesday.

Former England captain Nasser Hussain will be the Master of Ceremonies (MC) of the event.

The last edition of the ICC Champions Trophy will be staged at Cardiff, Edgbaston and The Oval from June 6 to 23 and will be contested by defending champion Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, as well as host England.

Bangladesh and Kenya hosted the event (then called the ICC Knock-Out) in 1998 and 2000, respectively while Sri Lanka (2002), England (2004), India (2006) and South Africa (2009) were the hosts of one of the most awaited tournaments on the ICC calendar.

More from Sify: