India gets observer status at ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly

Last Updated: Fri, Sep 24, 2010 15:10 hrs

India's approval for observer status at the ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly (AIPA) was approved by acclamation on Friday at its 31st General Assembly held in Hanoi, Vietnam.

"India's flag was ceremoniously placed on the dais where upon the leader of the delegation Harsha Kumar G.V., Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) made his acceptance speech reaffirming the commitment of the Indian Parliament to further deepen and strengthen relations with ASEAN countries and Parliaments," said a Ministry of external Affairs release.

India is the eighth observer to ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly. The other seven observers are Australia, Canada, European Union, Japan, South Korea, China and Russia.

"In his plenary statement, Kumar said that cooperation between the Parliament of India and ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly added a new dimension to India's 'Look East Policy' and reflected the high priority attached by India to strengthen its relations with ASEAN countries," the release added.

The Indian delegation also included Rajya Sabha MP R.C. Singh.

The ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly held its 31st Session at Hanoi, Vietnam under the Chairmanship of President of the National Assembly of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, H.E. Nguyen Phu Trong.

The other members of ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly are the parliaments of Vietnam, Cambodia, Brunei, Philippines, Laos, Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand and Malaysia.

Myanmar is a Special Observer at ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly. (ANI)

More from Sify: