India hockey squad announced for Asian Champions Trophy

Last Updated: Fri, Dec 07, 2012 11:20 hrs

New Delhi, Dec 7 (IANS) Sardar Singh will lead defending champions India in the Asian Champions Trophy hockey to be held in Doha, Qatar Dec 20-27.

Fullback V.R. Raghunath will be the vice-captain of the 18-member team announced Friday.

India defeated Pakistan 4-2 via penalty shoot-out in a nerve-wracking final to clinch the inaugural Asian Champions Trophy China last year.

The tournament will also feature China, Japan, Malaysia, Oman and Pakistan. India will open their campaign against China Dec 20 followed by matches against Japan, Oman, Pakistan and Malaysia Dec 21, 23, 24 and 26.

India are currently playing the Champions Trophy in Australia.

The squad:


1. PR Sreejesh

2. PT Rao


3. VR Raghunath (vice-captain)

4. Rupinderpal Singh

5. Harbir Singh


6. Sardar Singh (captain)

7. Kothajit Singh

8. Birendra Lakra

9. Manpreet Singh

10. Gurmail Singh


11. SV Sunil

12. Gurvinder Singh Chandi

13. Danish Mujtaba

14. S.K. Uthappa

15. Nithin Thimmaiah

16. Yuvraj Walmiki

17. Dharamvir Singh

18. Akashdeep Singh

More from Sify: