India remembers Parliament attack martyrs

Last Updated: Wed, Dec 14, 2011 18:34 hrs

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Vice-President Hamid Ansari and other top leaders of the nation paid a tribute to the martyrs of the terrorist attack on Indian Parliament in 2001, that had rocked the pillars of Indian democracy.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Vice President Hamid Ansari, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, key Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders like Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and LK Advani offered floral tributes to the martyrs who had sacrificed their lives fighting against the terrorists on Dec 13, 2001.

Incidentally, the family members of the martyrs did not participate in the event as they voiced their anger over the delay in hanging main convict Afzal Guru.

"Remembering them and paying tribute to them is really important. But conducting faster trial of the key convict was equally important. The families of the martyrs are really concerned over it," Sushma Swaraj said.

Ten years ago, five terrorists had entered the Parliament and started firing ceaselessly. The brave soldiers gunned them down before they could enter the main premise of the Parliament and thus saved the lives of several Members of the Parliament (MPs).

The eight security personnel and one gardener lost their lives in one of the tragic events in the history of India.

Four Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) members were caught by Indian authorities and put on trial in December 2002.

The families of the martyrs returned the gallantry medals that were given to them by the government they wanted the key accused behind the attack, Afzal Guru, to be hanged.

However, Guru is still alive and awaiting a clemency.

More from Sify: