India's Zimbabwe quest: Kohli to lead; Rasool gets maiden call-up

Last Updated: Fri, Jul 05, 2013 14:10 hrs

Virat Kohli would be captaining the Indian cricket team in absence of Mahendra Singh Dhoni for the bilateral one-day series to be played in Zimbabwe starting from July 24.

Apart from Dhoni four others have been rested, which resulted in a maiden call-up for Haryana and Chennai Super Kings seamer Mohit Sharma. Cheteshwar Pujara, who has played 13 Tests already, has also been selected.

Jammu and Kashmir off-spinner Pervez Rasool would also be seen in action as he has got the thumbs-up from the selectors.

Rasool thanks all in a very humble way and said that it is hard work that has finally paid off.

The series also gives Gautam Gambhir an opportunity to prove his worth after being sidelined for a while.

Indian squad for Zimbabwe tour: Virat Kohli (capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Shami Ahmed, R Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma.

The Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) also announced the India 'A' squad to tour South Africa early next month : Cheteshwar Pujara (capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, M Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Parvez Rasool, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shami Ahmed, Stuart Binny, Ishwar Pandey, Jaydev Unadkat, Siddarth Kaul (ANI)

More from Sify: