Jagadish Shettar to be sworn in as Karnataka CM on Thursday

Last Updated: Tue, Jul 10, 2012 14:10 hrs

Jagadish Shettar will be sworn in as the new chief minister of Karnataka on Thursday.

Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Rajnath Singh announced this decision following a meeting of the Karnataka BJP legislature party in Bangalore, which elected Shettar as their new leader.

"The BJP today called a meeting of Karnataka BJP legislature party. And in BJP legislature party of Karnataka, Sadananda Gowda and Yeddyurappa, both former chief ministers, proposed the name of Jagadish Shettar as a new leader of BJP legislature party Karnataka. After that Jagadish Shettar was unanimously elected as leader of BJP legislature party Karnataka," said Singh.

"We have decided that tomorrow at 2 p.m. we will go to Governor House and we will submit all related letters to honourable Governor. And after that the oath taking ceremony will take place on 12th of July," he added.

When asked to comment on who would the deputy chief minister of Karnataka, Singh said: "Regarding the deputy chief minister and the ministers, it is the prerogative of the chief minister and the chief minister will take a final decision regarding his Cabinet."

Rajnath Singh is in Bangalore along with Arun Jaitley to oversee the transition from Sadananda Gowda to Jagadish Shettar.

Shettar, who has the backing of former Karnataka chief minister B.S. Yeddyurappa, will be the third BJP chief minister in the state in four years since the party came to power there in 2008.

The BJP's core group met in New Delhi on Saturday to approve BJP President Nitin Gadkari's strategy of resolving the Karnataka crisis by replacing Gowda with Shettar.

The crisis in the Karnataka BJP intensified last week after nine ministers resigned from the State Cabinet, thereby projecting a show of strength in their campaign for ousting Gowda.

The ministers, who quit earlier were Jagadish Shettar (Rural Development), CM Udasi (PWD), Murugesh Nirani (Industries), V Somanna (Housing), Umesh Katti (Agriculture), Basavaraj Bommai (Water Resources), Revu Naik Belamagi (Libraries and Animal Husbandry), M P Renukacharya (Excise) and Raju Gowda (Small Scale Industries)

The ministers, however, withdrew their resignations later following a decision of BJP leadership that there would be a change in chief ministership in the state. (ANI)

More from Sify: