Jayalalithaa takes oath as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister

Last Updated: Mon, May 16, 2011 07:27 hrs

Chennai: AIADMK leader J Jayalalithaa was on Monday sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the third time. Jayalithaa was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Surjit Singh Barnala at Madras University.

There are totally 33 ministers in the cabinet out of which 25 are new faces such as Senthil Balaji who has been allotted the transport ministry, while nine members of the new cabinet are former ministers.

Some of the key portfolios have been allocated to her trusted and senior AIADMK leaders including former chief minister O Panneerselvam (Finance), V Senthil Balaji (Transport), S Thellapndian (Labour), K A Senkottaiyan (Agriculture), Nainar Nagendran (Industry), C V Shanmugam (Education), and Gokula Indira.

Jayalalithaa met the Tamil Nadu governor Surjit Singh Barnala at the Raj Bhavan and staked her claim to form the government on Sunday. The AIADMK-led front has won 204 of the total 234 seats in the Assembly.

Jayalalithaa, who led the party to a landslide victory, by winning 150 seats of the 160 constituencies in the Tamil Nadu Assembly elections, was elected leader of the AIADMK’s Legislature Party on Sunday.

More from Sify: