JD-S, Congress decides to set up panel for CMP

Last Updated: Thu, Jun 14, 2018 21:56 hrs

Bengaluru, June 14 (IANS) The first meeting of the coordination committee of JD-S-Congress on Thursday decided to constitute a five-member committee for drafting a Common Minimum Programme while continuing the popular schemes of the previous Congress government in Karnataka.

The coordination committee also decided on appointments of a few corporation chairmen within a week.

"We have decided to constitute a five-member drafting committee for the Common Minimum Programme.

"The committee will submit the draft report to the coordination committee in 10 days and then it (coordination committee) will look into it and finalise the CMP," said Janata Dal-Secular National Secretary Kunwar Danish Ali, who is a member of the coordination committee.

He also said names of the members of the five-member committee will be announced on Friday.

Ali said the committee has also decided to continue most of the popular programmes of the previous government, which include Indira Canteen, Anna Bhagya and other pro-people programmes.

The five-member coordination committee comprises Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy and Ali (JD-S) and Deputy Chief Minister G. Parameshwara, former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, AICC General Secretary in-charge of Karnataka K.C. Venugopal (all Congress).

The JD-S-Congress coalition government in Karnataka was expanded on June 6, with the induction of 25 legislators as cabinet ministers including 23 from the alliance partners and one BSP MLA and an Independent.



More from Sify: