Jharkhand crisis: Centre likely to recommend President's rule today

Last Updated: Thu, Jan 17, 2013 04:08 hrs

New Delhi: The Union Cabinet is likely to recommend on Thursday imposition of President's rule in Jharkhand, which is facing political instability, while keeping the Assembly in suspended animation.

The state is expected to come under a spell of central rule as no party or combination of parties is in a position to form a government in the wake of fall of the BJP-led coalition last week, official sources said.

The Home Ministry has prepared a note on the basis of the report sent by Governor Syed Ahmed which will be placed before the Cabinet on Thursday, the sources said.

The Governor has recommended President's rule in the state while keeping the Assembly under suspended animation.

The recommendation was made in his second report to the Centre on the political situation in the wake of the resignation of Chief Minister Arjun Munda who also sought dissolution of the Assembly after Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) withdrew support to his government.

The Cabinet will discuss the Governor's report as well as the Home Ministry note on the Jharkhand situation before taking next course of action, the sources said.

Jharkhand, which was created in 2000, has been placed under President's rule twice.

The present political instability erupted on January 8 when BJP's ruling coalition partner JMM, in a letter to the Governor, formally withdrew its support to the 28-month-old government pushing it into a minority.

In the 82-member state assembly, BJP and JMM have 18 members each. The Munda government had the support of six members of All Jharkhand Students' Union, two of Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal (United), two independents and one nominated member who has voting right in a trial of strength.

Opposition Congress has a total of 13 members, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha(P)11 and Lalu Prasad's Rashtriya Janata Dal 5 in the assembly. CPI-ML(L), Marxist Coordination Party, Jharkhand Party (Ekka), Jharkhand Janadhikar Manch and Jai Bharat Samta Party have one member each besides an independent.

More from Sify: