Jonathan Trott named ICC Cricketer of 2011

Last Updated: Tue, Sep 13, 2011 18:42 hrs

London, Sept 12 (IBNS) England's Jonathan Trott has been named ICC Cricketer of the Year 2011 at the LG ICC Awards after an extraordinary 12 months for the batsman.

In 12 Tests, he compiled 1,042 runs at an average of 65.12, including four centuries and three half-centuries. In addition, he played 24 ODIs, hitting 1,064 runs at an average of 48.36 with two centuries and nine 50s.

In that time he has helped his team retain the Ashes in Australia, reach the quarter-final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and also register other Test series victories against Sri Lanka, India and Pakistan.

The independent voting academy of 25 highly credentialed cricket experts put Trott first, ahead of a formidable group of players that had been short-listed, including England team-mate Alastair Cook, last year's winner Sachin Tendulkar and South Africa opening batsman Hashim Amla.

Trott follows in the footsteps of India's Rahul Dravid (2004), Andrew Flintoff of England and South Africa's Jacques Kallis (joint winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting of Australia (2006 and 2007), West Indies' Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson of Australia (2009) and India's Sachin Tendulkar (2010) to take the top award.

Trott accepted the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy from ICC President Sharad Pawar at a glittering ceremony in London and was clearly thrilled with the accolade.

He said: "It's fantastic to be part of a successful team and I never envisaged winning this award and it's a brilliant feeling to be recognised."

More from Sify: