Karnataka bypoll: Voting for Mandya, Bangalore Rural LS seats underway

Last Updated: Wed, Aug 21, 2013 05:20 hrs

Voting is underway for bye elections to Mandya and Bangalore Rural Lok Sabha constituencies today.

The polling which began at 8 a.m. will end at 5 p.m.

Film actor Ramya of Congress is pitted against CS Puttaraju of the JD(S) in Mandya constituency, while Anitha Kumaraswamy of the JD(S) is contesting against DK Suresh of Congress in Bangalore Rural. There are 22 contestants in fray. BJP has not fielded its candidates.

The bypoll was necessitated by the resignation of N Cheluvarayaswamy (Mandya) and former Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy (Bangalore Rural) who quit after being elected to the Assembly in May this year. (ANI)

More from Sify: