Karnataka polls: BJP will win 70-80 seats, says Sadananda Gowda

Last Updated: Wed, May 08, 2013 05:50 hrs

Bangalore: Former Chief Minister Sadananda Gowda on Wednesday expressed confidence that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will win at least 70 to 80 seats in Karnataka assembly polls, even as the trends of the vote count so far indicated that the ruling party was on its way out in the state.

"Practically we hope that we will reach somewhere between 70 to 80. That is our expectation. After polling we received information and that some particulars from our cadre and practically in some places there was little bit confusion and thereby we may go back from 90 to 80," Gowda told media here.

As per the latest trends, Congress is leading with 102 seats, while the ruling BJP is ahead in 38 seats.

JDS candidates were leading with 46 and Karnataka Janatha Paksha led by former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa with 10.

Counting of votes for the Karnataka Assembly elections, which witnessed a 70.23 per cent voter turnout on May 5, began this morning at 8 a.m. amidst tight security.

The results of the vote count will decide who will occupy each of the 223 seats up for grabs in the state assembly.

All district administrations have made necessary arrangements to ensure a smooth counting of votes, as most of the final results of which are expected around noon today. The final tally will be announced this evening.

In each of the counting centres, 14 tables have been arranged to count votes cast in each constituency. It will be managed by counting officials, supervisors, assistants and micro observers.

Elections in Periyapatna has been postponed till May 28 following the death of BJP candidate.

In the 2008 elections, BJP secured 110 seats, three short of majority and formed the government with the help of five independents who were made ministers. Congress bagged 80 seats and JD-S 28. The overall voter turnout then was 64.91 per cent. 

More from Sify: