Karnataka: Shettar to take oath as CM

Last Updated: Tue, Jul 10, 2012 06:14 hrs

Jagdish Shettar would take oath as the Karnataka Chief Minister on Tuesday replacing Sadananda Gowda who resigned earlier after a revolt in the BJP party by the loyalists of former CM B S Yeddyurappa.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) national leaders Jaitley and Rajnath Singh are in Bangalore to facilitate the change of guard in the government after it was plunged into a crisis by Yeddyurappa and his loyal league of MLAs.

Former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa aide and present Rural and Panchayati Raj Minister of Karnataka Jagadish Shettar will be the third BJP chief minister in four years in the state ruled by the party.

While Gowda accepted his removal with a smile, his supporters from the Vokkaliga community are protesting and observing the day as a ´black day´, reports said.

Karnataka BJP, which is riven by infighting, political chicanery and allegations of corruption, has been an Achilles Heels for India´s main opposition in New Delhi.

Gowda had to resign on July 8 after a turmoil in the government and resignations of several ministers.

BJP chief Nitin Gadkari heaped praise on Gowda for his works in the past 11 months though he could not explain to media why exactly then he was removed, while repeating that party scenario forced Gowda´s resignation.

Reports said Gowda could be accommodated in some other important position as a sop for his replacement.

Jagadish Shettar is a close associate of former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa who wanted the removal of Gowda.

Shettar began his political career with the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad and became an active Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) member.

In 1990, he became the President of Hubli Rural Unit of the BJP and in 1994, the Dharwad District Unit President of the party. He was elected to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly for the first time in 1994 and got re-elected from Hubli rural constituency for four successive terms.

In 1996, he became the BJP State Secretary and in 1999, he was chosen as the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly following the defeat of the BJP in the state elections.

Shettar was the Leader of Opposition when S.M. Krishna was the Chief minister.

In 2005, he was appointed as the state president of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

In 2008, following the BJP victory in Karnataka assembly elections, Shettar was elected as the Speaker of the Karnataka legislative assembly. However, he resigned from this post in 2009 and was inducted in to the cabinet of B.S. Yeddyurappa as minister for Rural development and Panchayat Raj.

In 2011, when B.S. Yeddyurappa had to resign, Shettar emerged as a major contender to the post of Chief Minister but Gowda was finally chosen.

Removal of D V Sadananda Gowda signals the BJP central leadership´s bowing to intense pressure from Yeddyurappa, whose supporters, including a number of cabinet ministers and MLAs, had vowed revolt unless their demand was met.

Gowda was sworn in last year following the somewhat reluctant exit of Yeddyurappa, who had become entangled in an illegal mining scandal.

More from Sify: