Kishore Bhimani conferred Lifetime Award

Source : IBNS
Last Updated: Wed, May 01, 2013 10:34 hrs

Famous sports journalist, author and commentator Kishore Bhimani was conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award in the H&G Clinic Journalism Awards function held here recently.

Bhimani received the Award at a function on Thursday last from former Indian cricket team captain Ravi Shastri.

Ravi Sashtri was the Chief Guest for the evening and he shared his experience of long association with the Bhimani family especially with Kishore Bhimani.

Chairman of H&G Clinic, Moloy Bhattacharya along with other celebrities, personalities and veteran journalists were present in the event.

The evening also witnessed a musical recital by sitarist Purbayan Chatterjee.

Mir, popular anchor of television shows known for his comic lines, hosted the award ceremony, cheering the audience and all nominees and winners from the different categories.

Out of 21 categories in which awards were given, two additional categories were "98.5 Red FM Bajate Raho Award" and the "Hall of Fame" award.

The first one is a salute to those journalists who dare to make a difference to the society through their piece of writing.

The other one was to honour excellence and achievement in the field of journalism.

All the categories provide a cash reward of Rs. 15000 each whereas the Lifetime Achievement Award category offers Rs 25,000 along with a memento.

The Hall of Fame Award was presented to veteran sports journalist and associate director of Ananda Bazar Patrika, Gautam Bhattacharya.

The judges panel for this year includes eminent personalities like India's senior photojournalist, picture editor and co-founder of Nazar Foundation and the Delhi Photo Festival, Prashant Panjiar, retired Station Director of Doordarshan and Secretary of Kolkata Sukriti Foundation, Abhijit Dasgupta, Executive Director of Central Bank of India Malay Mukherjee, Bengali writer Santo Mitra.

Among the other judges were Principal Secretary of Information and Cultural Affairs Department Atri Bhattacharya and Professor at the Department of Urdu at Maulana Azad College Shahnawaz Shibli.

The Journalism Awards Committee has been organising this event for the fifth consecutive year in association with Candid Communication, a Public Relations company in Kolkata.

(Reporting By Pragya Mukherjee)

More from Sify: