KKR spoil CSK's dream, win IPL crown

Last Updated: Mon, May 28, 2012 11:00 hrs

The City of Joy witnessed untimely Diwali celebrations on Sunday night as Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) beat mighty Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by five wickets in the nerve-crunching final match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium here.

Chasing 191 runs for victory, KKR reached the winning score of 192 runs for the loss of five wickets in 19.4 over in the game.

KKR had the worst possible start to the match as Gautam Gambhir (2) perished in the very first over of the match. His wicket was picked up by B Hilfenhaus.

Manoj Tiwary, Manvinder Bisla and Jacques Kallis emerged as the new heroes of the city as they played three crucial knocks that shattered CSK skipper MS Dhoni´s dream of lifting the maiden IPL trophy.

It was Bisla who started the attack by hammering a brilliant knock of 89 runs from 48 deliveries that included five sixes and eight boundaries.

South African batting icon Jacques Kallis on the other hand played a crucial knock of 69 runs from 49 deliveries to give KKR supporters enough ingredients to cheer for the side. He hit seven boundaries and a six on Sunday.

Bisla and Kallis added 136 runs in the second wicket partnership.

However, the match slowly started to get drifted towards Dhoni´s side when KKR lost both Bisla and Kallis in crucial junctures of the game.

Laxmi Ratan Shukla (3) and Y Pathan (1) faied to deliver with the willow.

However, Shakib Al Hasan (11*) and Manoj Tiwary (9*) kept their nerves cool in the fag end of the match and helped KKR reach the wining score of 192 runs in 19.4 overs.

Dhoni gave Bravo to bowl the last over of the match as KKR needed nine runs to win from it.

Manoj hit two back to back boundaries in the last over of the innings to cruise to the winning score as KKR supporters across the globe burst into celebrations.

B Hilfenhaus picked up two wickets in the match.

Earlier, CSK scored 190 runs for the loss of three wickets in their quota of 20 overs.

Mike Hussey (54) and Murali Vijay (42) gave Super Kings a great start with their 87-run stand after Suresh Raina made an explosive 38-ball 73.

Opting to bat first, Hussey and Vijay laid the foundation of the innings with their 87-run stand that came off in just 62 balls.

Hussey was also involved in a 73-run stand with Raina, who smashed five sixes and three fours in his whirlwind knock.

Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan, who owns KKR, looked a happy man on Sunday night as he greeted his players for the victory.

"We are completely thrilled. I want to thank Gautam (Gambhir) and my boys," Khan said.

Bisla, who was announced the ´Man of the Match´ for his scintillating knock that helped the entire nation swing to the tunes of ´Korbo Lorbo Jitbo re´.

CSK had won the last two editions of the tournament.

More from Sify: