Lalu demands suspension of Jharkhand Assembly

Last Updated: Wed, Jan 09, 2013 07:00 hrs

RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav on Wednesday asked Governor Syed Ahmad to put Jharkhand Assembly under suspension so that parties can explore the option of forming a popular government in the tribal state.

He also termed Chief Minister Arjun Munda's recommendation to dissolve the Assembly in wake of the ongoing political crisis in the state as unconstitutional.

A day after the collapse of the Arjun Munda government, the JMM leaders led by Shibu Soren are expected to hold talks with the Congress top brass in Delhi on the possibility of stitching up a new alliance to form government in Jharkhand.

According to reports, top JMM leaders including Hemant Soren. Simon Marandi, Mathura Mahto and Hazi Hussain Ansari will hold discussions with Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, PM manmohan Singh and other s, PM manmohan Singh and other s, PM manmohan Singh and other senior leaders.

The JMM leaders are expected to stay in Delhi till a new political alliance is stitched up.

Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee (JPCC) chief Pradip Balmuchu said that his party would decide the future course of action only after JMM, which has finally withdrawn support to the BJP-led Arjun Munda Government, comes forward with its proposal.

Asserting that the JMM has been an old partner of the Congress and has also been helping the ruling government at the Centre, Balmuchu also made it clear that his outfit had no problem in joining hands with Shibu Soren's party.

Arjun Munda, who resigned as the chief minister on Tuesday, recommended dissolution of the 82-member Assembly leaving the situation wide open for Governor Syed Ahmed to decide the future course of action.

The latest development in this regard came after the JMM withdrew its supoort to the BJP-led Arjun Munda Government.

Relations between the BJP and JMM came under strain since the chief minister rejected that there was an agreement between the two parties on rotation of power after 28 months in office.

JMM, however, insisted there had been an agreement to share power.

The BJP and JMM have 18 members each in the 82-member Jharkhand assembly. The Congress has a total of 13 members and RJD has five MLAs. (ANI)

More from Sify: