List of 44 deemed universities losing their status

Last Updated: Tue, Jan 19, 2010 11:53 hrs

​The Ministry of Human Resources and Development (HRD) has decided to withdraw the "deemed" status awarded to 44 universities in the country, stating they were being run as "family fiefdoms" and not on "academic considerations".

This announcement came in the course of a 2006 lawsuit against the practice of deemed universities in response to which the apex court had sought an affidavit. The tone of the affidavit is in line with recommendations of the Yash Pal Committee, which had pointedly stated that deemed university system must be scrapped. It may also be recalled that after several media reports on irregularities and rampant profiteering in several leading institutions, the then Union HRD Minister Kapil Sibal had ordered an enquiry into the matter, and even made it part of his ?100-day agenda? for the education sector.

Govt to derecognise 44 deemed universities

The Deemed University status enables the educational institutes to design their own syllabus and course work. They also get the autonomy to set its own guidelines regarding admission and fees. Some of the Deemed Universities are also allowed to grant degrees on their own name.

  1. Meenakshi Academy of Higher Education and Research , Chennai
  2. Chettinad Academy of Research and Education, Padur, Kancheepuram
  3. Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Insitute, chennai
  4. Saveetha University, Chennai
  5. Kalasalingam University, virudhunagar
  6. Periyar Maniammai University, Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu
  7. Marine Engineering and Research Institute, chennai
  8. Vels Institute of Science, Technology and Advanced Studies, Chennai
  9. Karpagam University, Coimbatore
  10. Vel Multi Tech Sri Rangarajan Sakunthala Engineering College, chennai
  11. Sri Balaji Vidyapeeth University, Pondicherry
  12. Vinayaka Missions University, Salem, Tamil Nadu
  13. Bharat institute of science & technology, Selaiyur Tambaram, Chennai
  14. Ponnaiyah Ramajayam college, Thanjavur
  15. Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development, Sriperumbudur
  16. St.Peter's University of higher Education and Research, Chennai
  17. Noorul Islam University, Kanyakumari
  18. Institute of History of Art Conservation and Musicology, New Delhi
  19. Nava Nalanda Mahavira , Nalanda, Bihar.
  20. Christ College, Bangalore,
  21. Lingaya’s University in Faridabad, Haryana
  22. Jaypee Institute of Information Technology in Noida
  23. Sri Devraj Urs Academy of Higher Education and Research, Kolar
  24. Yenepoya University, Mangalore
  25. BLDE University, Bijapur
  26. Sri Siddhartha Academy of Higher Education, Tumkur
  27. Jain University, Bangalore.
  28. Institute of Advanced Studies in Education (IASE) of Gandhi Vidya Mandir, Sardarshahr
  29. DY Patil University in Maharashtra
  30. Gurukul Kangri Vishwavidyalaya, Haridwar
  31. The Savita Institute and Vinayaka Mission in Tamil Nadu.
  32. Yenepoya University, University Road, Mangalore
  33. BLDE University, Solapur Road , Bijapur
  34. Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences, Satara
  35. DY Patil Medical College, Kolhapur,
  36. Mody Institute of Technology and Science, Rajasthan
  37. Shobhit Institute of Information Technology, Meerut
  38. Jaypee Institute of Information Technology,  Noida
  39. Manav Rachna International University, Faridabad
  40. Santosh University, Ghaziabad
  41. Nehru Gram Bharati Vishwavidyalaya, Allahabad
  42. Siksha O Anusandhan, Bhubaneswar, Orissa 
  43. Maharishi Markandeshwar Univ, Maullana, Ambala
  44. Graphic Era University, Dehradun

More from Sify: