Live Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018: The winners and losers

Last Updated: Wed, May 16, 2018 11:28 hrs

After the Karnataka election results threw up a fractured mandate, all eyes are now on Governor Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala, who will take the crucial decision - on whom to call first to form the government in the state. 

It is solely up to Governor Vala, an ex-Minister in CM Modi's cabinet in Gujarat, to take this major decision on whether to call the single largest party - the BJP - or let the Congress-JD (S) coalition to to form the next government in Karnataka. 

Many experts believe the governor must favour the Congress and JD (S) coalition since they have the numbers on their side. If this happens, it will be quite a win for HD Kumaraswamy, who will be crowned CM, despite his party ending up with its lowest vote share in over two decades.

Both the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Janata Dal (Secular) (JD-S) backed by the Congress Party met the governor earlier in on Tuesday evening, to press their claims to be the first to be given a chance to prove their majority.

BJP ending up as the largest party came despite the Congress gaining the largest percentage of votes.

The results came after May 12 had seen 222 of the 224 seats in the Karnataka legislative assembly go to the polls.

Polling for the RR Nagar seat was deferred on account of alleged electoral malpractices, while it was countermanded in the Jayanagar seat following the death of the BJP candidate.

The latest updates here:

More from Sify: