Meghalaya, Nagaland record strong voting

Last Updated: Sat, Feb 23, 2013 19:18 hrs

Northeastern states of Meghalaya and Nagaland on Saturday recorded 88 percent and 83.27 percent voting respectively for assembly elections as voting concluded with just a few "minor incidents", reports said.

Despite a bandh call by insurgents in some districts, Meghalaya recorded a high turnout while Nagaland also reported high voter participation with only a few minor incidents.

In Meghalaya, 88 percent of the 15.03 lakh electorate cast their votes to elect 60 members from among 345 candidates, including 25 female candidates, in the election to the ninth Meghalaya Assembly.

Nagaland also witnessed brisk polling by 83 percent of its 11.93 lakh-strong electorate for its 60-member Assembly where a total of 188 candidates are in the fray.

The counting of votes would be held on Feb 28.

Bye-elections in six assembly constituencies around the country was also concluded peacefully.

Chalfilh in Mizoram recorded 78 percent voting, Bhatpar in Uttar Pradesh 50 percent and Moga in Punjab recorded 70.33 percent polling, Deputy Election Commissioner Alok Shukla said in New Delhi.

In West Bengal, Nalhati in Birbhum district, English Bazar in Malda district and Rejinagar in Murshidabad district recorded 65, 75 and 72 percent polling respectively.

In Meghalaya Congress has fielded 60 candidates while the United Democratic Party (UDP) has put up 50 candidates.

Out of the 15 parties contesting the election, P A Sangma-led National Peoples´ Party has fielded 32 candidates while Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is contesting at 13 seats.

Voting took place at 2485 polling stations, the Election Commission officials said.

The fates of key candidates like Chief Minister Mukul Sangma, State Home Minister HDR Lyngdoh, Education Minister R C Laloo, Conrad K Sangma Congress president D D Lapang and UDP president Don Kupar Roy will be sealed on Saturday.

In Nagaland, the Naga People´s Front fielded 60 candidates while the Congress put up 57 candidates.

BJP (11), NCP (15), JD (U) [3], RJD (2) United Nagaland Democratic Party (1) are the other parties contesting the election.

Thirty nine independents and two women candidates are also contesting the polls.

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Opposition Leader Tokheho Yepthomi and former Home Minister Imkong L Imchen are the key candidates whose fates will be decided on Saturday.

Both the states, plagued by insurgent militants, witnessed unprecedented security for the elections.

More from Sify: