MNS triumphs in Kalyan-Dombivli polls; Cong, NCP-JSP in Kolhapur

Last Updated: Mon, Nov 01, 2010 14:11 hrs

Mumbai: Contesting the Kalyan-Dombivli civic polls for the first time, Raj Thackeray-led Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) emerged triumphant, getting 26 seats in the 107-member House which saw a fractured verdict.

The Shiv Sena-BJP ruling combine secured 40 while Congress-NCP polled 30 seats, far short of the 54-seat mark for staking claim to power.

The fractured verdict has also given rise to speculation about the role MNS will play as Raj Thackeray had announced that the next Mayor will be from his party.

Following is the party position in the 107-member KDMC: Shiv Sena 31, BJP 9, NCP 15, Cong 15, MNS 26, others 11.

In the 77-member Kolhapur Municipal Corporation, polling for which was also held yesterday, Congress secured 31 seats, followed by the NCP-Jan Surajya Party combine which got 29 seats.

NCP entered into an alliance with Jan Surajya Party (JSP) whose chief Vinay Kore had campaigned for MNS candidates in Mumbai.

Senior state Congress leader Patangrao Kadam lost no time in announcing that as Congress has emerged the number one party, the next Kolhapur mayor will be from his party.

The party position in KMC is as follows: NCP-Jan Surajya Party 29, Congress 31, Sena-BJP 7, Shahu Aghadi 1 and others 9.

Elections for the Kalyan-Dombivali and Kolhapur Municipal corporations were held yesterday. 

More from Sify: