Modi rejoins BJP Parliamentary Board after six years

Last Updated: Sun, Mar 31, 2013 06:24 hrs

New Delhi: Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi was on Sunday re-inducted into the BJP's highest decision-making body, the parliamentary board.

Modi makes his comeback to the party's top decision-making body after six years.

The parliamentary board has only 11 top-ranking leaders and Modi is the only chief minister included in this select group.

BJP president Rajnath Singh, who met party's veteran L.K. Advani this morning ahead of the announcement, named former Gujarat Home Minister Amit Shah, Varun Gandhi, J P Nadda, Ananth Kumar, Dharmendra Pradhan, Muralidhar Rao and Rajiv Pratap Rudy as general secretaries of the party.

Actor-turned-politician Smriti Irani has been replaced by Saroj Pandey as the head of the BJP's women's wing, but has been appointed as one of the party's vice-presidents.

Besides Irani, Sadananda Gowda, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Dr C. P. Thakur, Jual Urao, S. S. Ahluwalia, Balbir Punj, Satpal Malik, Prabhat Jha, Uma Bharti, Bijyo Chakravarti Lakxmikanta Chawla and Kiran Maheshwari have also been made the party's vice-presidents.

Prakash Javadekar, Shah Nawaz Hussain, Nirmala Sitaraman, Vijay Sonkar Shashtri, Dr. Sudhanshu Trivedi, Meenakshi Lekhi and Captain Abhimanyu have been made the party's spokespersons.

This is part of the BJP's massive overhaul as the new president puts in place his team of officebearers, carefully balancing the interests of the party with those of its ideological mentor, the RSS.

More from Sify: