'Moondru Per Moondru Kadhal': Melodious, but not Yuvan's best (Tamil Music Review)

Last Updated: Sun, Dec 09, 2012 09:50 hrs

Film: 'Moondru Per Moondru Kadhal'; Music Director: Yuvan Shankar Raja; Singers: Nandini Srikar, Blaze, Karthik, Krish, Neha Bhasin, Ramesh Vinayagam, Shwetha and Yuvan Shankar Raja; Lyricist: Na. Muthukumar; Rating: ***

"Moondru Per Moondru Kadhal" (MPMK) soundtrack has six songs featuring the voices of Nandini Srikar, Blaze, Karthik, Krish, Neha Bhasin, Ramesh Vinayagam, Shwetha and Yuvan Shankar Raja. All songs are written by Na. Muthukumar.

The opening track "Aaha kaadhal konji pesudhe" by Nandini Srikar is a smart concoction of classical ragas and rock music. It is the kind of song one would enjoy in the morning over a fresh cup of coffee. Yuvan's pick of instruments is apt to the setting of the song. A medley of violin and flute somewhere in the middle of the song is uplifting and gives a musical high.

The second number by Neha Bhasin is "Kaadhal enthan kaadhal". This song isn't quite innovative on the music front but makes for a good foot-tapping number. Yuvan uses mostly digitally processed beats along with some South Indian instruments such as nadhaswaram, to keep the song, part western and part Indian.

"Mazhai mazhai" by Karthi and Shwetha is a breezy track about rain that may or may not impress one and all. This song with heavy orchestration doesn't boast a catchy tune but follows a pattern that keeps changing with every passing minute.

Digitally mastered music isn't noteworthy and since the song follows a change in tune and therefore the output doesn't quite create interest.

The next track "Padapadakkudhu maname" is an energetic melody smartly mixed with rapper Blaze's lines. Yuvan gives Blaze the opportunity to even croon few lines of the song besides his rap lines. The song oscillates nicely between the voices of Krish and Blaze while sounding almost similar to an English song. The younger generation is sure to lend their ears to this track, which may very well be the pick of the album.

"Unakkagave uyir vaalgiren" by Yuvan is a soulful number bereft of any criticism. Yuvan's voice, though highly nostril-influenced, makes the song his own. There are occasional retro beats nicely backed by constant thumping beat in the background. Digital percussion with synthesizer play almost throughout the song while Yuvan also innovates with sounds from video games.

The final number in the album is "Stop the paatu" by Ramesh Vinayagam. Strong and pumping percussions with powerful lyrics make this song unique yet melodious in its own way. Ramesh's voice goes in sync with the occasional chorus and acoustic hooks.

More from Sify: