Musharraf's party wins one seat in parliament

Last Updated: Sun, May 12, 2013 12:40 hrs

Islamabad, May 12 (IANS) Former Pakistani president Pervez Musharraf's party, the All Pakistan Muslim League (APML), managed to win one seat each - its first since it was formed - in the National Assembly and the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa provincial assembly.

Despite the party announcing a boycott of the elections, APML candidate Shehzada Iftikhar-ud-Din won the NA-32 Chitral seat by around 20,000 votes, Dawn News reported.

APML candidate Ghulam Mohammad won the PK-90 Khyber Pakhtunkhwa assembly seat.

The party had announced a boycott of the elections after the rejection of Musharraf's nomination papers from all provinces and the imposition of a lifetime ban.

However, the party's candidates from Chitral decided to stay in the fray.

The former military ruler is under house-arrest at his farm house, which was declared a sub-jail.

Musharraf returned to Pakistan in March after more than four years in self-exile to contest the elections.

More from Sify: