Nagpur Test ends in draw; England win series

Last Updated: Mon, Dec 17, 2012 14:24 hrs

England won a series against India on Indian soil after 28 years after the visitors drew the fourth and final Test match against the home side at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium here on Monday.

Resuming at the overnight score of 161-3, Jonathan Trott (143) and Ian Bell (116*) hit centuries that helped England secure a draw in the final Test match on the fifth day on Monday.

Trott and Bell added a fighting 208-run fourth wicket partnership that shattered India´s hope of clinching a series-levelling win.

Trott hit 18 boundaries in his 310-ball knock before he was dismissed by Indian spinner R Ashwin.

England declared their second innings at 352-4, leading India by 356 runs.

Bell and Joe Root (20*) remained not out till the end.

Indian bowlers only picked up the wicket of Trott on Monday.

The visitors had lost the wickets of Alastair Cook (13) , Nick Compton (34) and Kevin Pietersen (6) in their second innings on Sunday.

India declared their first innings at 326 for nine, four runs behind England's first innings score of 330 runs.

Virat Kohli remained the top scorer for India with his 103 runs.

England's James Anderson remained the pick of the bowlers as he scalped four wickets in the innings.

England were all out for 330 runs in their first innings. Kevin Pietersen (73), Matt Prior (57), Joe Root (73) and Swann (56) made good contributions with their willows.

Indian spinner Piyush Chawla scalped four wickets by giving away 69 runs.

Ishant Sharma took three wickets while Ravindra Jadeja picked up two wickets in the innings. R Ashwin scalped the wicket of Prior.

Pertinently, the David Gower-led England team had last won a series in 1984-85.

More from Sify: