NCW felicitates women achievers

Last Updated: Tue, Mar 13, 2012 12:40 hrs

The National Commission for Women (NCW) on Tuesday felicitated women who had shown indomitable spirit of fighting against adversities and dedicated their lives to work for rights of women.

Among those honoured include Aarti Dixit (Kanpur), Dr. Anjana Goswami (Guwahati), Ms. Asma Khanam,Ms. Bengia Dipti Tako, Arunachal Pradesh, Ms. Chanda Zariwala (Maharashtra), Ms. Geeta Devi (Rajasthan), Dr. Ila Pathak, Ms. Krishna Yadav (UP), Ms. Lily Thomas, Ms. ManasiPradhan (Odisha), Ms. Manjula Rath, Ms. Manu Hari Pathak, Ms. Meenakshi Arora, Dr. Meea Singh, Ms. Mukesh Devi (Haryana), Ms. Pramila Devi (Bihar), Sister Prema, Ms. Rehana Begum (Puducherry), Dr. Sarojini Pritam and Dr. Shakuntala Sharma

The function was organized to mark the International Women's Day celebrations.

During the event, a report "Understanding Gender Equality in India" was released by the NCW Chairperson Mamta Sharma.

The report gave a comprehensive presentation and analysis of secondary data from several sources like Census of India, District Level House hold Survey, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Ministry of Labour and Employment, National Family Health Survey etc.

Speaking on the occasion Sharma said that the women of the nation are now on the rise which is a matter of great satisfaction. She however said a lot more yet needs to be done and more importantly the women have to come forward in yet grater extent to safeguard their legitimate rights.

She promised that the NCW will stand by with the women of the country in their good and bad times. The members of the Commission and several dignitaries were also present on the occasion. (ANI)

More from Sify: