Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar CM, forms government with BJP

Last Updated: Thu, Jul 27, 2017 10:26 hrs
Nitish Kumar and Sushil Modi sworn in as Chief Minister and Deputy CM of Bihar respectively, at Raj Bhawan in Patna.

Patna: Janata Dal (United) supremo Nitish Kumar on Thursday took oath as Bihar Chief Minister. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Sushil Modi also took oath as Bihar Deputy Chief Minister.

Bihar Governor Kesrinath Tripathi administered oath to Kumar and Modi at Raj Bhavan.

This is the sixth time, when Nitish has taken oath as the Bihar Chief Minister.

The confirmation of the swearing-in time came from Sushil Modi after he had submitted a letter, with support of 132 MLAs.

He also said that they were given 10 am as the time for swearing in, which initially was 5 pm.

Modi confirmed receiving invitation from Bihar Governor Keshri Nath Tripathi to take oath and be a part of Bihar Government."Just received invitation from Hon'ble Governor to take Oath and be a part of Bihar Govt," he tweeted.

Meanwhile, Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav took to Twitter to express his rage over the present developments.

He intimated that they are going to the Governor house to stage dharna, if not called for being the single largest party.

He confirmed the same in another tweet:

Questioning Nitish's rush to stake claim, Tejashwi said the time for swearing-in changed from 5 p.m. to 10 a.m. as soon as the information of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) meeting the Governor at 11 a.m. came out.

Bihar is witnessing upheaval soon after Nitish Kumar's resignation came in yesterday evening.

Nitish also dubbed his alliance with the RJD as unnatural.

However, RJD is claiming that it has support of more than half of the JD(U) MLAs and they have every right to stake claim to form government, as their party is the single largest party.

More from Sify: