Nitish Kumar wins trust vote

Last Updated: Wed, Jun 19, 2013 09:30 hrs

Patna, June 19 (IANS) Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar Wednesday won the trust vote in the assembly, proving his majority after dumping long-time ally the BJP.

A total of 126 legislators voted for the motion moved by the chief minister while 24 voted against. The house has 243 members.

Bharatiya Janata Party legislators walked out before the special session began.

The ruling Janata Dal-United has 118 legislators and needed the support of four more to prove its majority.

More from Sify: