NPF surging ahead in Nagaland

Last Updated: Thu, Feb 28, 2013 07:24 hrs

Kohima: Ruling Naga Peoples Front (NPF) is surging ahead in Nagaland with the party winning four seats and Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio building up an unassailable lead of over 11000 votes.

NPF is leading in 22 seats, while Congress, which has won one seat, is leading in another five. NCP is leading in another 4 and independents in 6.

Education Minister Nyeiwang Konyak of the outgoing Democratic Alliance of Nagaland government was defeated by Eshak Konyak of Congress by 693 votes in Aboi.

In Pughoboto, Y Vikheho Swu of NPF defeated sitting MLA and Congress candidate Joshua Sumi by 2286 votes. In Phomching former minister and NPF candidate Pohwang defeated five times sitting Congress MLA K Kongam Konyak by 2437 votes.

Congress candidate Y Mankhao was drubbed in Mon Town by NPF candidate Thongwang by 274 votes.

Rio is set to retain his Northern Angami seat for the fifth time.

Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie too is leading over Asu Keyho of Congress by over 800 votes in Western Angami seat, while Leader of Opposition Tokheho Yepthomi is leading in Dimapur-III by 772 votes against closest rival and sitting NPF MLA Azheto.

Congress president S I Jamir is leading by 1500 votes over closest rival Savi Liegise, an independent candidate. NPF candidate Lipok is trailing in the third position.

Out of the total 60 seats, election was held in 59 follwoing the death of Congress candidate of Tuensang sadar seat P Chuba Chnag. MORE

More from Sify: