Outcome of no confidence vote exposed Congress and Opposition, says Reddy

Last Updated: Tue, Dec 06, 2011 15:30 hrs

Yuvajana Sramika Rythu (YSR) Congress chief Jagan Mohan Reddy on Tuesday said the outcome of the vote of no confidence in the Andhra Pradesh assembly has exposed the real nature of the ruling Congress and the Opposition party, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

Reddy termed the no confidence motion, which took place on Monday, as a historic moment in the state assembly.

"This clearly citing that he did it so to instigate my people so as to not support this no-confidence motion. But, thanks to the wisdom of my people that they were sober, they took it with the spirit and they still voted in the way the sincere politicians should do," said Reddy.

"That is why this is a historical moment I would say because it has exposed the true nature of the Congress party and Chandrababu Naidu," he added.

Reddy further challenged the state government to go in for elections in all the constituencies rather than gaining the confidence of the electorates in selective regions.

"Today, we are requesting this government that if these people have the guts let them go in for elections in the entire 17 constituencies in one go rather than making an issue of this and going in for elections in two constituencies and three constituencies, and four constituencies in phases. Let's go to the people. Let's face the elections. Let's see whom the people are with?" he added.

The Andhra Pradesh Assembly has rejected the no-confidence motion against the government by 38 votes. In the voting held after Monday mid night, 160 members opposed the motion and 122 voted in favour. Four members remained absent and one member of Lok Satta party abstained.

136 members from the Congress, 16 Prajarajyam party, 6 from MIM and one attached member and one independent member opposed the motion. Those who voted in favour included 84 TDP members, 11 TRS members, five from Left parties, two from BJP and one Independent.

Sixteen Congress members cross-voted in favour of the motion. One member each from TDP and Prajarajyam party also cross-voted.

The marathon debate went on for more than 16 hours. The assembly was later adjourned sine die marking the end of the winter session. (ANI)

More from Sify: