Paes, Mukherjee receive Davis Cup Commitment award

Last Updated: Sat, Feb 02, 2013 13:10 hrs

New Delhi, Feb 2 (IANS) Indian tennis legends Leander Paes and Jaideep Mukherjee were felicitated by the All India Tennis Association (AITA) at the R.K. Khanna Tennis Stadium here Saturday when they were presented with the Davis Cup Commitment Trophy.

The others who were also chosen for the award but were not present to receive them were Mahesh Bhupathi, Anand and Vijay Amritraj, Ramesh and Ramanthan Krishnan and the late Premjit Lal.

The awards were given away by chief guest, actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha.

Mukherjee made his Davis Cup debut in 1960 against Thailand and had a 62-35 win-loss record while Paes is currently playing his 49th Davis Cup tie here against South Korea.

South Korea currently lead the tie 2-1 as the two reverse singles will be played Sunday.

More from Sify: