PMO reviews Direct Cash Transfer scheme preparedness

Last Updated: Fri, Dec 14, 2012 08:20 hrs

The Prime Minister's Office has reviewed the preparedness for Direct Cash Transfer scheme.

Following the directions of the National Committee on Direct Cash Transfers chaired by the Prime Minister on November 26, 2012, the Executive Committee held a meeting for follow-up action on Direct Cash Transfers.

The Executive Committee, chaired by the Principal Secretary in the PMO, discussed in detail the core objective of how Direct Cash Transfers of benefits in the identified 34 schemes in the selected 43 districts will be implemented as per the timelines finalized earlier by the National Committee. Eight districts in Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat have been excluded till the end of the election process.

A one-day meeting of the Collectors of the concerned districts excluding Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh will be held between 10 to15th of this month. Planning Commission will immediately finalise the dates for the meeting and communicate it to all concerned.

At the field level, for Ministries implementing schemes, firming up and digitising databases, completing enrolment for Aadhaar by all beneficiaries, ensuring bank accounts for all beneficiaries, ensuring that Aadhaar numbers are entered into bank account databases and beneficiary databases will be the primary activity in the coming few weeks.

Banks would also be authorised to be Registrars for Aadhaar numbers and will be enabled to enroll beneficiaries for Aadhaar at the locations where camps are to be held and otherwise as well. Matters relating to schemes of the Ministry of Rural Development will be addressed in a separate meeting.

Department of Financial Services will look into the issue of service charges by banks on individual transactions, limits on balances in no-frills accounts, definition of inoperative account and other related matters impacting Direct Cash Transfers.

All implementing ministries will launch publicity/ information/ instruction campaigns in the 43 districts immediately and in the 8 districts of Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat after December 20. (ANI)

More from Sify: