Polling underway in Nagaland, Meghalaya

Last Updated: Sat, Feb 23, 2013 09:55 hrs

Shillong/Kohima, Feb 23 (IBNS): Amid tight security polling is currently underway on Saturday to elect new assemblies in Meghalaya and Nagaland.

According to reports, 12 percent of total voters cast their ballots in the first two hours since polling began at 7 am in Meghalaya while 30 percent of the electorate exercised their franchise in the first three hours in Nagaland.

In Meghalaya, 15.3 lakh voters will exercise their franchise to seal the fate of 345 candidates, including 25 female candidates, for the 60-member state assembly.

The Congress has fielded 60 candidates while the United Democratic Party (UDP) has put up 50 candidates.

Out of the 15 parties contesting the election, P A Sangma-led National Peoples´ Party has fielded 32 candidates while Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is contesting at 13 seats.

Voting is taking place at 2485 polling stations, the Election Commission officials said.

The fates of key candidates like Chief Minister Mukul Sangma, State Home Minister HDR Lyngdoh, Education Minister R C Laloo, Conrad K Sangma Congress president D D Lapang and UDP president Don Kupar Roy will be sealed on Saturday.

In Nagaland, 11.93 lakh voters will cast their ballots to elect a new 60-member assembly.

A total of 188 candidates are in the fray.

Of the 2023 polling stations, 662 have been been identified as hyper-sensitive while 821 as sensitive.

The Naga People´s Front have fielded 60 candidates while the Congress has put up 57 candidates.

BJP (11), NCP (15), JD (U) [3], RJD (2) United Nagaland Democratic Party (1) are the other parties contesting the election.

39 Independents and two women candidates are also contesting the polls.

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Opposition Leader Tokheho Yepthomi and former Home Minister Imkong L Imchen are the key candidates whose fates will be decided on Saturday.

More from Sify: