Population First invites entries for 'Laadli' awards

Last Updated: Thu, Aug 01, 2013 13:42 hrs

NGO Population First focusing on the population and health issues facing the country, on Thursday invited the media to send in their entries for the fifth Laadli Media and Advertising Awards for Gender Sensitivity - Eastern Region.

The Laadli Media Awards were instituted in March 2007 as a Mumbai centric event and were subsequently taken to the National level with the support of the UNFPA.

The Awards have been instituted to acknowledge, highlight and celebrate the commendable efforts undertaken by Print and Electronic media (TV, Radio and Web) and Advertising, to support gender-just perspectives.

News features, articles, editorials, Op-Eds, investigative reports, human interest stories from print and electronic media and ads and jingles from the advertising agencies for products, services and public service announcements are considered for the awards.

Population First stated that multiple entries, even across categories, are encouraged from individuals and media houses (group entry).

The entries should be published/broadcast between Jan 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013. The winners will be chosen by a jury comprising of eminent personalities both from the media and social sector.

The last date for receiving entries is Sept 15, 2013. The awards ceremony for the Eastern region will take place along with that of the Southern region in Hyderabad in December, the NGO noted.

Laadli, a term of endearment meaning 'cherished daughter' in Hindi, is a comprehensive communication campaign aiming to promote a positive image of women and girls in society by changing the stereotypical mindsets that undervalue women.

Laadli media advocacy includes a number of activities viz., Media fellowships, gender sensitization workshops for working and student journalists, interactive sessions with Creative Directors of TV Channels, Ad analysis with advertising professionals.

The 2011-12 Awards for the Eastern Region were presented, among others by Chief Guest Sunanda Mukherjee (Chairperson of West Bengal Women's Commission) and Debjani Chaliha (noted Manipuri dancer).

Sixteen media persons including four nominees for Special Awards were felicitated at the event.

More from Sify: