Railways sportspersons bag 13 of 38 gold medals

Last Updated: Thu, Oct 14, 2010 14:30 hrs

New Delhi, Oct 14 (IANS) Indian Railways sportspersons bagged 13 of the 38 gold medals won by India in the Commonwealth Games, and have won fulsome praise from Railways Minister Mamata Banerjee.

Extending 'her heartiest congratulations for the outstanding performance of railways players in the Indian contingent', Banerjee also announced a 'Special Minister's Award' for all the 23 railway sportspersons winning medals, said a ministry statement here Thursday.

It added that railway sportspersons won a total of 23 medals, including 13 gold, 3 silver and 7 bronze of the 101-medal haul by India. India won 38 gold, 27 silver and 36 bronze medals.

The Special Minister's Award comprises Rs.10 lakh each for gold medal winners, Rs.6 lakh each for silver medal winner and Rs.4 lakh for bronze medal winners, said the statement. The minister's award is in addition to that given by the Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB).

The awards announced by the RSPB include Rs.5 lakh each for gold, Rs.3 lakh for silver and Rs.2 lakh for bronze medal winners, besides a promotion in railway service.

The 13 railway men and women who won gold in the Oct 3-14 sporting extravaganza include Anisha Sayyed (Shooting 25m Pistol Team), Ravinder Kumar (Wrestling 60 Kg. Greco Roman), Sanjay (Wrestling 74 Kg. Greco Roman), Anisha Sayyed (Shooting 25m Pistol Indvidual), Y. Renubala Chanu (Weightlifting 58 Kg.) and Rajinder Singh (Wrestling 55 Kg. Greco Roman).

The other railway sportspersons who won gold are Dola Banerjee and L. Bombayla Devi (Archery, Recurve Team Event), Narsingh Yadav (Wrestling, 74 Kg. Free Style), Sushil Kumar (Wrestling 66 Kg. Free Style), Krishna Punia (Athletics, Discus Throw), Ashwani AC and Sini Jose for athletics (4X400 Relay).

Other railways men and women winning gold are Manoj Kumar (Boxing 64 Kg) and Pramjit Samota for boxing in 91 Kg category.

The silver medal winners are Ashish Kumar (Gymnastics Voult Exercise), Prajusha (Athletics, Long Jump and Joginder (Wrestling, 120 Kg. Free Style).

The seven bronze medal winners include Dharmendra Dalal (Wrestling 120 Kg. Greco Roman), Ashish Kumar (Gymnastics, Floor Exercise), Suma Shirur (Air Rifle, Pairs Event), Dola Banerjee PP (Archery Recurve Individual), Anil Kumar (Wrestling, 55 Kg. Free Style), S. Geetha and Priya P.K (Athletics, 4X100 Relay) and Ranjith Maheshwari (Athletics, Triple Jump).

More from Sify: