Raninder re-elected NRAI president

Last Updated: Sat, Apr 06, 2013 10:40 hrs

New Delhi, April 6 (IANS) Raninder Singh was Saturday re-elected unopposed as the president of the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI).

This was announced during the NRAI's General Body Meeting held at Hotel Raj Hans, Suraj Kund, by Justice (retd) Mehtab Singh Gill. Raninder is holding the post since Dec 29, 2010.

D.V.S. Rao, earlier the joint secretary general, was elected unopposed as the new secretary general.

Avtar Singh, the senior-most member of the governing body, was also elected unopposed as senior vice president while Baljit Singh Sethi will continue as advisor.

All the office bearers and members of governing body except secretaries were elected unopposed. The election for secretaries were conducted by secret ballot and six were elected in the presence of Radhica Sreeman, regional director of Sports Authority of India (SAI).

The general body also nominated the following seven for their contribution to the promotion of shooting in India:

1. Raja Randhir Singh as life president

2. B.S. Adityan as life president

3. Sunny Thomas as vice life president

4. Navin Jindal as patron-in-chief

5. Jagjit Singh as patron

6. Jaswant Singh as chairman emeritus

7. T.S. Dhillon as vice-chairman emeritus

More from Sify: