Ranji Trophy: Delhi bowled out for 212 against Tamil Nadu

Last Updated: Thu, Nov 17, 2011 16:00 hrs

New Delhi, Nov 17 (IANS) Delhi were bowled out for 212 in their first innings against Tamil Nadu on the first day of the third round of Ranji Trophy cricket matches here Thursday.

Medium fast bowlers Lakshmipathy Balaji (3/42) and Jagannathan Kaushik (3/41) and slow left arm spinner Aushik Srinivas (3/48) plotted Delhi's fall.

Only opener Unmukt Chand (86) and Yogesh Nagar (59) showed some resistance while the rest of Delhi batting fell apart. Tamil Nadu were 8/0 at stumps.

At Mumbai, Manish Pandey cracked a century to help Karnataka post 316/5 against Mumbai.

After deciding to bat at the Brabourne stadium, Karnataka lost KB Pawan, who had scored a double ton in the first match, for a duck.

Ganesh Satish (83) shared 46 runs with Robin Uthappa (43), who played a breezy knock, for the second wicket before Pandey joined him.

Pandey, who reached his 100 off 111 balls, retired hurt for 101 with the team score on 202 in 53.3 overs. He hit one six and 13 boundaries during his 114-ball stay at the crease.

At Kolkata, Bengal captain Manoj Tiwary (136 not out) and opener Arindam Das (105) struck centuries to help their side post an imposing 318/3 against Madhya Pradesh.

Tiwary and Das were involved in a 209-run stand for the third wicket. While Das got out shortly after reaching his century, Tiwary remained unbeaten at the end of the day's play with former India captain, Sourav Ganguly (37 not out), giving Tiwary company.

Brief scores:

Elite Division

At Delhi : Delhi 212 all out in 81.0 overs (Unmukt Chand 86, Yogesh Nagar 59; Jagannathan Kaushik 3/41, Lakshmipathy Balaji 3/42, Aushik Srinivas 3/48) vs Tamil Nadu 8/0 in 7 overs.

At Delhi: Rajasthan 257/2 in 92.0 overs (Ashok Menaria batting 142, Robin Bisht batting 85 ; Anureet Singh 1/90) vs Railways.

At Mumbai: Karnataka 316/5 in 90.0 overs (Manish Pandey retired 101, Ganesh Satish 83; Iqbal Abdulla 2/70) vs Mumbai.

At Sambalpur: Orissa 295/3 in 92.0 overs (Biplab Samantray batting 110, Niranjan Behera 54; Praveen Gupta 1/44) vs Uttar Pradesh.

At Mohali: Saurashtra 280/4 in 90.0 overs (Sagar Jogiyani batting 126, Bhushan Chauhan 68; Manpreet Gony 2/83) vs Punjab.

At Kolkata: Bengal 318/3 in 90.0 overs (Arindam Das 105, Manoj Tiwary batting 136; Anand Rajan 1/44) vs Madhya Pradesh.

At Vadodara: Haryana 281/3 in 90.0 overs (Rahul Dewan batting 131, Nitin Saini 112 ; Swapnil Singh 1/25) vs Baroda.

Plate Division

At Delhi: Vidarbha 265/1 in 87.0 overs (Aniruddha Chore batting 144, Shiv Sunder Das batting 65 ; Nishan Singh 1/45) vs Services.

At Vijayawada: Andhra 241/9 in 87.0 overs (Hemal Vatekar 69, Gonnabattula Chiranjeevi 61; Vikramjeet Malik 4/45, Vishal Bhatia 3/47) vs Himachal Pradesh.

At Kochi: Tripura 139-all out in 86.1 overs (Vinayak Samant 65, Debabrata Chowdhury 21; Sony Cheruvathur 6/40, Prasanth Parameswaran 2/23) vs Kerala 1/0 in 1.0 overs.

At Guwahati: Assam 131/5 in 65.0 overs (Sibsankar Roy 44, Rajagopal Satish 27 ; Anwar Khan 3-23) vs Hyderabad.

At Nashik : Maharashtra 372/4 in 90.0 overs (Chirag Khurana 123, Nikhil Paradkar 78; Shabaz Nadeem 2/92) vs Jharkhand.

At Jammu : Goa 281 all out in 83.5 overs (Abhishek Raut 58, Amit Yadav 51; Parvez Rassol 4/79, Samiullah Beigh 3/75, Abid Nabi 2/49) vs Jammu & Kashmir 15/0 in 4.0 overs.

More from Sify: