Santosh: Bengal to wear new shirt and logo

Last Updated: Wed, Feb 13, 2013 18:42 hrs

Bengal's head coach Manaranjan Bhattacharyaa on Wednesday exuded confidence on his new bunch of players and said they have the capability to win the 67th Santosh Trophy if they overcome initial jolt at the qualifying stage.

At an unveiling ceremony of new logo and shirt, sponsored by e.i.n.s sport, a German company collaborating with an Indian partner, Bhattacharyaa said: "This time we will go to play and win the trophy."

Winners of 2009-10 and 2010-11, Bengal could not make to the semifinal stage in the last edition of the tournament.

Bengal, Delhi and Railways are in a group from which two will make to the quarter finals stage to be played in Kochi.

On the eve of team departure, e.i.n.s. sport´s chief executive officer Rainer Appold said: "Marketing of football in India is still at its nascent stage. It is our privilege to be associated with the Bengal Football team and we are grateful to IFA to allow us to be the jersey sponsors for the Bengal team for the forthcoming Santosh Trophy."

Twenty-member squad: Goalkeepers - Arnab Das Sharma, Debjit Majumdar, Manas Barua Defenders: Bapi Saha, Soumik Roy, Deepak Singh, Sagram Mandi, Sourav Chakrabarty, Gour Naskar, Saikat Saha Roy Midfielders: Mohammed Muktar, Arjun Chatterjee, Gopal Debnath, Abhishek Aich, Jagannath Sana, Francis Xavier Forwards: Dipendu Biswas (CAPTAIN), Nabin Hela, Anjan Dey

Coaches -Manaranjan Bhattacharyya (coach), Satyajit Chatterjee (assistantcCoach), Partha Chakrabarty (goalkeeper coach)

The Santosh Trophy is being co-hosted by Uttar Pradesh and Kerala from Feb 1 to Mar 3.

Bengal holds the record of being the champions on 31 occasions.

More from Sify: